INFORMATION ON THE NEW CJA PLAN FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF MISSOURI AND THE APPLICATION PROCESS FOR CJA APPOINTMENTS

The United States District Court for the Western District of Missouri has adopted a new Criminal Justice Act Plan. [http://www.mow.uscourts.gov/sites/mow/files/CJA_Plan_WDMO.pdf] Pursuant to the Plan, the Court must create a Panel of private attorneys who are willing to accept appointments to represent individuals under the Plan. The Plan provides that members of the Panel should expect to receive between 4 and 6 appointments per year. [See Section X of the Plan.]

Attorneys who are interested in becoming a member of the CJA Panel should fill out an application form. [http://www.mow.uscourts.gov/sites/mow/files/CJA_Panel_Application.pdf] The form is in a fillable format and should be e-mailed to CJApanel@mow.uscourts.gov. The deadline for receiving applications is **March 12**, **2018.** The CJA Committee, comprised of a District and Magistrate Judge, a representative from the Federal Public Defender's Office, the Panel Representative, and a criminal defense attorney, will review the applications and recommend to the Chief District Judge or his designee the attorneys who should comprise the Panel. The CJA Committee anticipates having CJA Panels selected for all Divisions by April 2, 2018.

CJA Panel attorneys will be appointed for a three year term. However, in order to establish staggered terms, initially each panel selected by the CJA Committee will be divided into three groups with terms of one, two and three years. (See Section X.C.5 of the Plan.) Panel attorneys will be notified prior to the expiration of their term so that they may reapply if they wish to continue to be appointed as CJA Counsel under the Plan. Anyone interested in being a CJA Panel attorney is encouraged to apply. Questions may be directed to CJApanel@mow.uscourts.gov.

¹ The CJA Committee for the Western and St. Joseph Divisions will be District Judge Beth Phillips and Magistrate Judge Sarah Hays, Laine Cardarella, Shazzie Naseem and Patrick McInerney. The CJA Committee for the Central Division will be District Judge Beth Phillips and Magistrate Judge Willie Epps, Laine Cardarella, Shazzie Naseem and Dan Hunt. The CJA Committee for the Southern and Southwestern Divisions will be District Judge Beth Phillips and Magistrate Judge David Rush, Laine Cardarella, Shazzie Naseem and Stacie Bilyeu.