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IN THE UNITED STATES BANKRUPTCY COURT FOR THE
WESTERN DISTRICT OF MISSOURI

IN RE: )
)

DANIEL SULLIVAN SMITH, ) Case No.   00-61273
)

Debtor. )

MEMORANDUM OPINION

On August 3, 2000, debtor Daniel Sullivan Smith filed this Chapter 13 bankruptcy

petition. The Chapter 13 trustee objected to Mr. Smith’s claim of exemption as to his

homestead. This is a core proceeding under 28 U.S.C. § 157(b)(2)(B) over which the Court

has jurisdiction pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1334(b), 157(a), and 157(b)(1). The following

constitutes my Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law in accordance with Rule 52 of the

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure as made applicable to this proceeding by Rule 7052 of the

Federal Rules of Bankruptcy Procedure.

ISSUES PRESENTED

(1) In Missouri a debtor is entitled to claim as exempt from the claims of creditors up

to $8000 of equity in a homestead. Missouri law also provides only one owner can claim the

entire amount. Daniel and his sister jointly own their homestead, both filed Chapter 13

bankruptcy petitions, and both claim the $8000 exemption. Are the joint owners of a

homestead, with separate creditors, each entitled to the $8000 exemption?

(2) Daniel’s Chapter 13 plan and plan summary proposed to pay $57.00 month for 36

months to the Chapter 13 trustee. From that amount the Chapter 13 trustee must pay Daniel’s

attorney’s fees and the Chapter 13 fee. The Bankruptcy Code (the Code) provides that in
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order to be confirmed a Chapter 13 plan must propose to pay to unsecured creditors an

amount not less than they would receive in a Chapter 7 liquidation. Daniel has nonexempt

equity in his homestead. His plan proposes to pay a total of $2052 over the life of the plan,

and of that amount the Chapter 13 trustee must pay $1500 in attorney’s fees. Does the plan

satisfy the best interest of unsecured creditors test as required by the Code?

DECISION

(1) The homestead exemption in Missouri is limited to $8000 for each homestead,

therefore, only one joint owner can claim the entire amount.

(2) The Code requires that a Chapter 13 plan provide for payment to the unsecured

creditors an amount equal to what they would receive in a Chapter 7 liquidation. That amount

may include the Chapter 7 administrative expenses or Chapter 13 administrative expenses,

but it cannot include both. And Daniel’s proposed plan does not provide for payment to the

unsecured creditors of an amount equal to the nonexempt equity in his homestead that they

would receive in a Chapter 7 liquidation. The plan as proposed, therefore, is not confirmable.

FACTUAL BACKGROUND

On August 3, 2000, Daniel filed this Chapter 13 case. According to his bankruptcy

schedules he has no secured or priority creditors, and he has a total of $11,347 in unsecured

debt. Those same schedules indicate that Daniel’s current income is $687.51, that his

expenses are $630.50, and that his disposable income is $57.00. The schedules also indicate

that Daniel owns real property with a value of $15,000, in which he claims a homestead

exemption of $8000. The Chapter 13 plan, filed with the schedules,  proposes to pay to the



     1Id., at § 522(d).

     211 U.S.C. § 522(b)(2)(A).
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Chapter 13 trustee the amount $57.00 a month for 36 months. From that amount Daniel’s

attorney will be paid $1500 over the life of the plan. 

According to his bankruptcy petition, Daniel resides at 1518 North Diggins Main

Street, Seymour, Missouri. His phone number is 417-767-4114.  Schedule A of Daniel’s

schedules indicate that that same property is owned in joint tenancy.

On August 3, 2000, Andrea Leigh Smith, likewise, filed a Chapter 13 bankruptcy

petition (Case Number 00-61274). She also listed her residence as 1518 North Diggins Main

Street, Seymour, Missouri, and her phone number as 417-767-4114. Andrea’s bankruptcy

schedules indicate that she owns this residence in joint tenancy, that the residence has a fair

market value of $15,000, and that $8000 of the value is exempt. Daniel and Andrea are

bother and sister.

The Chapter 13 trustee objected to the claim of exemption in both of these cases. He

argues that only one owner can claim the entire $8000 homestead exemption. I also note that

Daniel’s plan, as proposed, does not satisfy the Code’s requirements for confirmation even

if he claims the entire $8000 homestead exemption. For the reasons set forth below, I will,

therefore, sustain the trustee’s objection, and I will deny confirmation.

DISCUSSION

The Code provides one exemption scheme in section 522(d),1 however, it also allows

a state to opt out of this scheme and establish its own.2 Missouri chose to opt out, and debtors



     3Mo. Stat. Ann. § 513.427 (Supp. 2000).

4Id. at § 513.475.1.
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6See 11 U.S.C. § 522(m) (stating the [s]ubject to the
limitation in subsection (b), this section shall apply separately
with respect to each debtor in a joint case).
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domiciled in Missouri may exempt from property of the estate any property that is exempt

from attachment and execution under Missouri state law, or under any Federal law except

the Code.3 Debtors in Missouri may, thus, exempt equity in their homestead in an amount not

to exceed $8000:

1. The homestead of every person, consisting of a dwelling house and
appurtenances, and the land used in connection therewith, not exceeding the
value of eight thousand dollars, which is or shall be used by such person as a
homestead, shall, together with the rents, issues and products thereof, be
exempt from attachment and execution.4

The exemption, however, is limited to one owner, if that owner claims the entire allowed

amount of $8000:

The exemption allowed under this section shall not be allowed for more than
one owner of any homestead if one owner claims the entire amount allowed
under this subsection; but, if more than one owner of any homestead claims an
exemption under this section, the exemption allowed to each of such owners
shall not exceed in the aggregate, the total exemption allowed under this
subsection as to any one homestead.5

There has been some confusion in this area, because, in the case of a joint filing, the Code

provides that exemptions allowed by the Code apply to each debtor separately.6 However,

when a state opts out of the exemption scheme provided by the Code, that state is not
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required to make those exemptions available to joint debtors.7 As such, the exemptions

provided for in the Code have no force when the state opts out, as Missouri has done.8 I,

therefore, find that debtors in Missouri are bound by the express language of the Missouri

homestead statute, and that statute allows only one joint owner to claim the entire amount of

the homestead exemption. In Van Der Heide v. LaBarge (In re Van Der Heide),9 the Eighth

Circuit, interpreting Missouri’s homestead statute, held that a Chapter 13 debtor was only

entitled to claim one-half of the total homestead exemption as to property held with his non-

filing spouse as tenants by the entirety.10 Without deciding here how Daniel and Andrea

should or could divide their homestead exemption, I will, nonetheless, sustain the Chapter

13 trustee’s objection to Daniel’s claim for his homestead exemption. And I will allow 15

days for Daniel to amend his exemption schedule to comply with this Memorandum Opinion.

I also find that Daniel’s unsecured creditors, in his plan as proposed, will receive

minimum payments, despite the fact that Daniel has nonexempt equity in his homestead. The

Code provides that a Chapter 13 plan is not confirmable unless the plan proposes to pay to

unsecured creditors an amount equal to what they would receive in a Chapter 7 liquidation:

(a) Except as provided in subsection (b), the court shall confirm a plan if–



1111 U.S.C. § 1325(a)(4).

12In re Miller, 247 B.R. 795, 796-797 (Bankr. W.D. Mo. 2000)
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. . . 

(4) the value, as of the effective date of the plan, of property to
be distributed under the plan on account of each allowed
unsecured claim is not less than the amount that would be paid
on such claim if the estate of the debtor were liquidated under
Chapter 7 of this title on such date;11

This is called the “best interest of creditors test,”12 and its application requires two separate

calculations.13 First the Court must determine the value of property to be distributed to

unsecured creditors on the effective date of the plan, if confirmed, taking into account any

and all Chapter 13 administrative expenses.14 In this Case, Daniel proposes to pay to the

Chapter 13 trustee the sum of $57.00 a month for 36 months. From that amount, the Chapter

13 trustee must pay Daniel’s attorney’s fees in the amount of $1500, as well as the Chapter

13 trustee’s fees. In order to pay the attorney’s fees over the life of the plan, as proposed, the

Chapter 13 trustee will distribute $41.67 a month to Daniel’s attorney. In addition, the

trustee’s fees are approximately $5.70 a month. There will remain for payment to unsecured

creditors the sum of $9.63 a month for a total payment of $346.68, or approximately 3

percent of the debt as scheduled. 

The second calculation requires the Court to consider the amount that would be paid



15See Forbes v. Forbes (In re Forbes), 215 B.R. 183, 189 n.7
(8th Cir. B.A.P. 1997) (the Court held that the hypothetical
Chapter 7 liquidation is based on the cash payment that would be
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on each unsecured claim if Daniel’s estate were liquidated in a hypothetical Chapter 7 case,

taking into account Chapter 7 administrative expenses.15 For this calculation, the Court will

assume Daniel is entitled to the homestead exemption, and not Andrea. Daniel’s residence

is valued at $15,000 with no liens or encumbrances. Daniel is claiming $8000 exempt leaving

nonexempt equity in the amount of $7000. That sum would be available to Daniel’s

unsecured creditors after subtracting the Chapter 7 trustee’s fees for distributing same. The

Code provides that a Chapter 7 trustee is entitled to a fee not to exceed 25 percent on the first

$5000 distributed and 10 percent on sums in excess of $5000, but not to exceed $50,000.16

Using those limitations, a hypothetical Chapter 7 trustee would be entitled to a fee of $1450

on a distribution of $7000, leaving $5550 for distribution to unsecured creditors, or 48.9

percent of each scheduled unsecured creditor’s claim.

 I note that a debtor’s attorney’s fees in a Chapter 7 case are generally paid pre-

petition, and the fees are rarely considered as an administrative expense in most consumer

bankruptcy cases. Even were I do allow $600 for Chapter 7 attorney’s fees, however, the

unsecured creditors would receive more in a Chapter 7 liquidation. 

While not a Missouri case, In re Foulk17 is very nearly on point with the facts of this
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case. In Foulk married debtors each attempted to claim a homestead exemption in the amount

of $6750, when Nebraska had a statutory limit at the time of $10,000 in the aggregate.18 After

allowing only the $10,000 homestead exemption the Court, sua sponte, found that debtors’

plan did not satisfy the best interest of creditors test even though the debtors proposed to pay

to the Chapter 13 trustee the total sum of $3500.19 The Court stated that one needs to

determine the amount of money actually paid to the unsecured creditors, not the amount of

money paid to the Chapter 13 trustee, in making a best interest calculation.20 Since under the

Foulk’s proposed plan all of the payments would be applied to payment of attorney’s fees,

trustee’s fees, and secured claims, with no payments to unsecured creditors, the Court found

the plan did not satisfy the best interest of creditors test, and it refused to confirm the plan.21

I, likewise, find that Daniel’s plan, as proposed, does not  satisfy the best interest of creditors

test. I will, therefore, deny confirmation and allow Daniel 15 days in which to propose an

amended plan that complies with this Memorandum Opinion.

An Order in accordance with this Memorandum Opinion will be entered this date.

________________________________
  Arthur B. Federman

          Chief Bankruptcy Judge
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Dated:_____________________


