Federal Courts Advocates – A New Approach to a Federal Practice Organization in Metropolitan Kansas City

In the fall of 2008, and after dialogue with federal judges from both Missouri and Kansas, area practitioners joined with the Kansas City Metropolitan Bar Association to create the new Federal Courts Advocates Section of the KCMBA. The new section which replaces the KCMBA’s Federal Court Practice Committee seeks to broaden membership to all those interacting with our U.S. District Courts. But why should you join? According to Membership Co-Chair Perry Brandt, FCA offers many benefits:

  • Practitioners will meet with judges from both courts to exchange ideas.
  • The section will promote interaction and further information exchange between judges and practitioners via seminars and social events.
  • Judges and practitioners will partner to present community outreach programs, providing information to the public about the role of the federal courts.
  • The section will generally seek to improve and promote federal practice across the metropolitan area and to enhance the relationships among bench and bar and others with an interest in the federal courts.
  • Membership in the new Federal Courts Advocates Section is open to all who are licensed to practice in the federal courts of the Western District of Missouri and District of Kansas, and membership in KCMBA is not a prerequisite. The 2009 annual membership fee is $15 for KCMBA Members and $25 for non-KCMBA Members.

    If you are interested in becoming an FCA member, you may access the registration form by clicking here. If you have questions about the FCA Section or membership, please contact Mr. Brandt or Bob Thomas at the emails listed below. The FCA has also established standing Committees, so if you are looking for an opportunity to become more involved, you are encouraged to contact the appropriate Committee Chair.

    Plans are being finalized for the FCA’s fall kick-off event, so sign-up as a member now to receive information about this event and other opportunities.

    Officers:

Jennifer Gille Bacon, President jbacon@polsinelli.com
Gregory P. Goheen, President-Elect ggoheen@mvplaw.com
Jeffrey D. Morris, Secretary jmorris@bowse-law.com
Lajuana M. Counts, Treasurer lajuana.counts@usdoj.gov
Andrea G. Baran, Member-at-Large andrea.baran@eeoc.gov
Charlie Harris Jr., Member-at-Large charlie@sbhlaw.com
Patrick J. Stueve, Member-at-Large stueve@stuevesiegel.com
Scott A. Wissel, Member-at-Large sawissel@lrf-kc.com
Bob Thomas, FCAS Director bthomas@kcmba.org

Standing Committees:

Education Committee
Co-chair, Daniel E. Blegen danb@rhgm.com
Co-chair, Scott C. Gyllenborg scott@gyllenborg.com

Entertainment Committee
Co-chair, Walter M. Brown wbrown@ggbtrial.com
Co-chair, Alleen VanBebber avanbebber@mcdowellrice.com

Membership Committee
Co-chair, W. Perry Brandt perry.brandt@bryancave.com
Co-chair, Lynn R. Johnson ljohnson@sjblaw.com

Planning Committee
Co-chair, Brenda Hamilton brendah@shankhamilton.com
Co-chair, Marietta Parker marietta.parker@usdoj.gov

Home button

Mission | Site Map | Employment | Holidays | Help & Comments | Contact Us | FAQs | Accessibility